Vice-President (Gender)

Dudu Nkosi

Comrade Dudu Nkosi was first elected a school representative at Esikhisini Primary School in Atteridgeville where she was employed as an English and Natural Science teacher .

She was then elected as Branch Secretary at the Annual General meeting from 1999- 2001. Subsequent to that, Cde Nkosi served as Branch Chairperson for three terms.

In 2006, she was elected as Regional Deputy Secretary at a Regional Bi-annual Meeting. In 2009 she was bi-elected into the position of Regional Deputy Chairperson in the Gauteng North Region.

In 2011, Cde Nkosi was elected as Deputy Provincial Secretary at a Provincial Triennial Conference also serving in a full time capacity for the union at that level. Among other things , she represented members at the Arbitration level and led a Provincial Team in all Schedule 8 Consultation meetings, successfully. Further, she led a Provincial Recruitment team which saw the Province grow its membership quantitatively.

She was subsequently bi-elected into the National Working Committee as Vice -President: Gender on the 23rd of March 2020.

SADTU, as the biggest union of education workers in the country, has achieved a lot for her members generally. The membership statistics indicate that women constitute the biggest portion of the total membership and yet they are not adequately represented in decision-making structures of the union. It becomes prudent that the union endeavors to “maximize participation of women at all levels of the union and the education system as a whole.”

Gender Based Violence is another epidemic facing our society.  We need to end this scourge by, among other things, rigorously campaigning for the ratification of the ILO Convention 190 by our government in order to protect workers against any form of violence and harassment in the workplace. This, we can achieve by working closely with all alliance partners and other like-minded formations.


National Office Bearers


Cde Magope Maphila

Deputy President

Cde Lucky Goodman Mabutho Cele

General Secretary

Cde Mugwena John Maluleke

Deputy General Secretary

Cde Nkosana Dolopi

National Treasurer

Cde Lindiwe Matshwane

Vice President (Education)

Cde Faseega Solomon

Vice President (Gender)

Cde Dudu Nkosi

Vice President (Sport, Arts and Culture)

Cde Nolitha Mboniswa