Magope Maphila

Comrade Magope Maphila is a founder member of SADTU from SEPTU-NEUSA in Sekhukhuneland, Limpopo.

He has served SADTU as a site steward, branch education convener, branch and regional secretary, regional deputy chairperson and provincial chairperson.

Cde Maphila was elected as the Deputy President of SADTU during the 2009 National General Council (NGC) and again during the 7th National Congress in 2010. During the 8th National Congress in October 2014, Cde Maphila was elected as the President of SADTU and again at the 9th National Congress held in September 2019.

His priorities as president include contributing in political education programmes, working to create unity of purpose in and among structures, and helping to build a second layer of leadership within the collective mandate.

National Office Bearers


Cde Magope Maphila

Deputy President

Cde Lucky Goodman Mabutho Cele

General Secretary

Cde Mugwena John Maluleke

Deputy General Secretary

Cde Nkosana Dolopi

National Treasurer

Cde Lindiwe Matshwane

Vice President (Education)

Cde Faseega Solomon

Vice President (Gender)

Cde Dudu Nkosi

Vice President (Sport, Arts and Culture)

Cde Nolitha Mboniswa