SADTU congratulates teachers who took part in the Annual National Teaching Awards

20 February 2018

The South African Democratic Teachers’ Union (SADTU) congratulates all teachers who took part in the 2018 National Teaching Awards and the Department of Basic Education for organizing this prestigious event.

SADTU hopes the awards will go a long way towards restoring the status of teachers and the profession in society as teachers play a crucial role as community builders and agents of change.

Launched in 2000 by the then Minister for Basic Education, Professor Kader Asmal, the National Teaching Awards seeks to honour dedicated and creative teachers and promote excellence and best practice in schools and in the teaching profession.

Eliminations begin at the district level throughout the country where teachers enter in different categories. Winners in districts compete to represent their respective provinces at a national gala event where they vie for top spots in eleven categories.

Below are SADTU members who have won in different categories. They have done the Union as well as the teaching profession proud:

Winner: Excellence in Grade R Teaching: MrsNtolo Maria Ramabodu, Nelson Mandela Primary School, Free State Province
Winner: Excellence in Special Needs Teaching: MrSandile Clement Mdlalose, Thiboloha Special School, Free State Province.
Winner: Secondary School Leadership, Mrs Agnes Rasesemola, Excellence in Secondary School Leadership, Sunrise View Secondary School, North West Province
Winner: Primary School Leadership, Mr Mdungaza Mahlahlani, Dikubu Primary School, Limpopo Province



General Secretary,
Mugwena Maluleke;
082 783 2968

Deputy General Secretary,
Nkosana Dolopi;
082 709 5651

Media Officer,
Nomusa Cembi;
082 719 5157