Close to 25 000 SADTU members are expected to take part in the national marches to the Union Buildings in Pretoria and Parliament in Cape Town  on Wednesday, 24 April, 2013. COSATU President S’dumo Dlamini will lead the march in Pretoria while Second Deputy President Zingiswa Losi will lead the Cape Town march.

In Pretoria, the marchers will gather at the Old Putco Depot in Marabastad at 9am and the march will begin at 10am. The route is  as follows: Take Cowie Street, through Struben Street to Nelson Mandela Street to the Union Building.

In Cape Town, the marchers will assemble at 10:30am in Keizergracht Street and move down Darling Street, Adderley Street, Spin Street and Plein Street into Parliament.

The marches are meant to increase the pressure on Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga and her Director General Bobby Soobrayan to resign from their incumbent positions in defense of collective bargaining and promotion of quality public education.

ISSUED BY: SADTU Secretariat